1. Hello Guest! Looking for Mods or help with Modding Mega Mix+ or Arcade Future Tone? There's a Discord for that: https://discord.gg/cvBVGDZ.
    Dismiss Notice

IGB converter?

Discussion in 'Custom DLC' started by Nightsail, Jun 21, 2012.

1. Nightsail

Nightsail Welcome to DIVA!

Okay, so here's my thing: I want to help make some sort of converter for IGB files, specifically the characters' models. I'm thinking a plugin for a modeling program might be a lot cleaner a route to go here, than a separate tool.

Putting my cards on the table:

-- I'm not a programmer, I'm just an artist who likes doing 3D models and texturing. I'll help however I can, but if it's coding more complicated than CSS, I'm often lost. This won't stop me from trying, but I can't promise I'll be great at it. I can take directions, though!
    -- I have access to Alchemy; I'll gladly use it to get you whatever info I can from these files, if you want any. In fact, I used it very recently to look at the list of bones, and thus...
    -- I believe I've pretty well figured out the PD models' bone structures. (I know that should help.)
    -- I'm currently working on a model which should, by the time I'm done with it, be totally compatible with PD (I'm using one of Bookman's converted-from-PD MMD models as a reference, so I know the polygon counts and proportions and all that stuff are correct.)
    -- I'm using MilkShape, which is a 3D modeling program that was actually written for the purpose of doing game model mod stuff -- ie, this is right up its alley. They have an SDK for it for writing plugins and everything. It's a Windows program, it's shareware, it's cheap to buy if you want it, etc, etc. I'm honestly thinking that this program would be a prime candidate for this project -- it's Windows-based, so hopefully that's not a barrier? I'd consider Blender, but I have no idea how to use it yet.